Choose Royal

Design, objects, material culture and stuff.

In The Name of Research

“(…) I HAVE washed clothes, cooked, driven a tractor, run a Diesel locomotive, spread manure, vacuumed rugs, and ridden in an armored tank. I have operated a sewing machine, a telephone switchboard, a corn picker, a lift truck, a turret lathe, and a linotype machine. When designing the rooms in a Statler hotel, I stayed in accommodations of all prices. I wore a hearing aid for a day and almost went deaf. I stood beside a big new gun at Aberdeen Proving Grounds when it was fired, and was catapulted off my feet. Members of our office have spent days and night in airport control towers and weeks on a destroyer during maneuvers. We ride in submarines and jet planes. All this in the name of research! (…)”

em Designing for People (1955) de Henry Dreyfuss, edição Allworth Press de 2003

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on June 13, 2010 by in Design, Ideias de Outros, Livros.